Posted: 05/23/2006 in None

I know I’m behind on my writings. I have an update coming along … but I’ve been busy …

Although I’ve been trying to get stuff done at home lately, I’ve found myself venturing out to see some people, or procrastinating even while at home. However, it’s been … almost … theraputic. Of these, there are two bits to note.

Firstly, has been my spending time with Blondie. Oh, how I’ve missed her … Much time has passed since the days I’d spent nursing my heart, holed up in her room … but she was, and constantly remains, a great source of support. I can never get enough of her company.

Secondly, tonight, I had a most enjoyable chat with Sweetness. Although the chat was initially about her and the countless guys whose hearts she’ll undoubtedly break … {wink wink, nudge nudge} … it became a bit of a male-bashing session. Hey, what can I say? Men and women have their faults. But it’s so much easier to blame the men, eh?

She shared with me a quote by Carrie Bradshaw from “Sex And The City“:

“Later that day I got to thinking about relationships. There are those that open you up to something new and exotic, those that are old and familiar, those that bring up lots of questions, those that bring you somewhere unexpected, those that bring you far from where you started, and those that bring you back.

But the most exciting, challenging and significant relationship of all is the one you have with yourself. And if you find someone to love the you you love, well, that’s just fabulous.”

This particular quote rings very true. Despite the fact that, in defense of men, some of the show’s views on men tend to be rather harsh, I must say I have become a bit of a fan (I plan to watch Ah-Mun‘s DVD collection) for it’s rather smart and witty dialogue. There is a bit of a lesson that can be learned here.

Now, if we were to have but one look at Sweetness, one would be SOL for a clue as to why a lady of her calibre would be single. In my humble opinion, she is, without any doubt in my mind, the epitome of pulchritude. Let’s just say I don’t call her ‘Sweetness’ for nothing.

She certainly has a grace about her that makes her damn near irresistible to men. So, given that fact, she should have the pick of the lot. And believe you me, if you’ve ever stepped out in public with this lady, you’d see how she turns head – it’s quite the sight, let me tell you. And yet … she’s single.

Mind you, she’s single by choice. And I applaud her for it. Far too often I’ve seen friends fall prey to their own demons. People are social creatures. Naturally, we seek out the company, attention, and affection of others. And when our own loneliness gets the better of us, we allow … nay … we delude ourselves to let our guard down … and we get hurt.

By this, I mean people get themselves involved with others for the wrong reasons. Honestly, sometimes, I find logic to be the culprit. When people go looking for something, someone … it backfires. When one goes looking, one often bends the rules … one becomes someone one isn’t. People are guilty of looking for something that simply isn’t there. And they conform, compromise, and sacrifice themselves to fit the situation.

In my good friends whom I’ve been fortunate enough to see marry, have come to know of their engagements, or to have learned of their long-term dating arrangements, I’ve more often than not seen the union of two people whereby the both of them have naturally chosen one another. There’s a lot to be said for something that results from a natural groove of things.

In Blondie, is a young woman whom has, at times, admitted to being self-conscious about her beauty, neuroticism, and incredible desire for independence. What I think is the problem is, is that she is her own worst critic. She is a stunningly beautiful woman. Her ‘neuroticism’ makes her extremely charming. And her need for independence makes her an amazing counterpart.

In her guy, seems to be a fellow that suits her well. I barely know him, but from what I can gather, he complements her. They each act as a fully independently-functioning part of a unit.

In my good friends, Wingman and I-V, Dalo and Gracey, Chip and Sans, I’ve been honoured by their invitations to witness their celebrations of love as they exchanged vows. I truly respect these people, and I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a little bit envious of what they have. I’m sure, as with every couple, there might have been some hiccups along the way, but what I envy most about these folks is how everything fit together with them … naturally

“We should all be so lucky,” one would think. Well, truth be told, it may not be as far away as you’d like to think. From time to time, you might just find yourself wanting to spend more time with that certain person you know.

He might be your best friend. She might be that girl who’s always been there for you. He might be that guy who makes you laugh. She might be that girl who makes you smile. But the bottom line is … he … she … whoever it is … makes you happy. And that’s all that matters.

Follow your gut. Your gut tells you a lot. You should pay attention … and listen …

… & write back @ ya’!

J.Lo : Honey, don’t I know it …

Leave a Reply

