Posted: 06/19/2005 in None

“It’s A Freakin’ Emergency, Dammit!”

As of 6:20PM last night the Government of Alberta has declared it a local state of emergency. My building was visited by the police around 8PM. We were told that there is the possibility we need to be evacuated. Apparently Prince’s Island is completely under water.

Check here for updates, or here for press releases.

Yeah, it kinda sucks, I tell ya …

You know what else sucks? Having an internet connection as reliable as the rhythm method. … *meh* … perhaps, I shouldn’t complain since my neighbours have been nice enough to ‘share the wealth’ …

You know what else also suck? Sitting in front of the damn TV in the common room, watching a show … and the f’ing security guard walks in … changes the channel without so much as asking if you’re watching … watches for 30 seconds … and leaves. Like … WTF, mate!?

*Bah!* … Anyhow, with the flood and all, people have been evacuated to SAIT. I figured that since I had nothing else better to do last night, I’d pop on by to volunteer. Perhaps it was still early and most people were still packing up at home, but when I got there, there were more volunteers than flood victims.

I suppose one of the nice things about this city is that people have a pretty good sense of community. There pretty much isn’t much that I could have done to help. So I left them my number with the crew there and was told that they’d call if they needed help.

… yeah, I know … “such a boy scout, right? … {rolls eyes} …

So I did take Renka‘s advice yesterday and didn’t head into the office today. Though, I did spend most of the afternoon researching of a couple of topics for work; yeah, workaholic, right here. But I did get to sit down to one of my favourite movies on the tube – “The Breakfast Club“. I love this movie. And I do believe … and admit, for that matter … this is root of my facination with red-heads.

This is one of those movies that leaves an impression. Well, it certainly did for me. It actually gave me quite the insight into people; particularly young people. I think it somewhat put me ahead of the game. I found that I knew what to expect from others. And I understood where it came from.

From this movie, I learned to look at things from differing angles. Far too often people have such tunnel-vision, only willing to look from that one perspective. Perhaps this is why I’ve come to be such “the devil’s advocate”. Furthermore, it might be why I tend to be so forgiving of others. It’ rather easy for people to draw sympathy from me.

This, along with “When Harry Met Sally” (which I once again pulled out to watch) still ranks as two of my favourite movies. At times, I can’t help but think that in these two movies, you can find the basis every social misconception. If you really watch and pay attention, both these movies will help you break down and understand those tumultuous teenage years, and why things didn’t work out with what’s-his/her-name

I know this sounds all too odd for some whom know me. “Sympathy? … From Warz?! … *huh!?*”. I know. Watch the flicks. Look at it from my perspective. You’ll see why it’s so cut-and-dry in my mind. Moreover, life is about balances and decisions. You make that decision, find that balance; live with it.

… & write back @ ya’!

Mitch : Thanks, buddy. But it looks like is working now.

J.Lo : Thanks, babe! Good to see you online more now. I’m sure exams went well for you. Have yourself a wicked summer! And don’t do anything I wouldn’t do … but … that … pretty much … leaves you to just about anything! … 😛

… {D’Oh!} … I can *feel* Baby-J glaring at me now …

Rugby Chick: And thanks to you too, girl! … and what’s the latest? You haven’t blogged in ages! Am I going to see you at X’Mas? When was the last time I saw you? Must’ve been … almost 2 years ago!

Leave a Reply

