Posted: 06/18/2005 in None

Whoa, Weekend(!) … Well … Not *Really* …

I caught “Batman Begins” with my movie buddy, Cutie. Sometimes I don’t know what to make of movies nowadays. Sometimes the line of originality is truly blurred. With sequels … remakes … prequels … spin-offs … It’s hard for me to know how to take these things.

In theory, this movie is a ‘prequel’ to that of the “Batman” series. Only, it’s not. Go figure. I found the action in this movie rather enjoyable. It wasn’t overdone like some other movies I’ve seen recently. It was exciting. However, I found the other lesser featured aspects of this movie much more enjoyable. In the end, there were four aspects of this movie that really stood out in my mind.

Firstly, though I understand the leading role belongs to Christian Bale, with a cast with Michael Caine, Ken Watanabe, Liam Neeson, Gary Oldman, and Morgan Freedman, I expected to see a heck of a show. Although these actors didn’t disappoint, I was sorry not to have seen them showcased as I feel they could have been.

Secondly … and perhaps with Father’s Day coming up, I was rather struck by Thomas Wayne. A pure-hearted man, with great intentions, and a love for family that is never flaunted. With quiet pride and honour, he poses an incredible father-figure for young Bruce Wayne. Rarely do you see such qualities in a man of a position and social stature as that of a ‘Wayne’ in today’s society. It made me reflect on Roberto Benigni‘s character in “La Vita È Bella” (a.k.a “Life Is Beautiful“). Both characters, wonderful fathers. I can only hope I would become half as good a father as they are to their children.

Thirdly, I was a little taken aback by the ‘changes’ made to the story line. I won’t get into the deatils for those who’re looking to watch the movie soon. I’m not a big comic buff, but a do believe a big part of the story of Batman seems to undergone a ‘Hollywood Make-Over’.

Lastly, I enjoed the humour in the movie; both the clever, unspoken humour, and the irony invovled. Once again, I won’t ruin the movie for you guys, but let’s just say that in the end, you’ll see this ‘ain’t no “Bond” flick’.

… okay … laundry is done …

More to come later … maybe …

Leave a Reply

