Posted: 03/29/2005 in None

Well, what can I say about this trip back … ?

What I Did …

For starters, this trip was simply for me to relax. Boy, I needed it. Not to say that I’m stressed out from work. In fact, that’s far from the truth. Work has been fine. The people are great, and I’m neck-deep in technology – I’m lovin’ it.

But, living to work is not what I like nor am I used to. I was pretty burned out. Working anywhere from 9 to 20 hour days, 7 days a week takes it’s toll. And it doesn’t help that I haven’t much as an outlet. I hardly have any friends there. I don’t play any sports.

Who I Was With …

I always love my homecomings. However, the only sore point is the total lack of time. It never seems there’s enough time at home, nor do I have enough time to spend with people I want to see.

Thursday, I got to have a sit-down with ‘Tel. When we got booted from the coffee shop at closing time, we went for a bit of a drive and ended up parking and chatting for a while at an all too “romantic” locale. Interesting, the information that is dug up when comparing notes.

Friday, was a ‘surprise’ pot-luck for Dalo, only so it seemed, he’d gone and invited half the people himself. Go figure. In any case, it was good to see some people I hadn’t seen in a while. I think the highlight of my night might have been taking Buddy for a walkabout. I miss having a dog.

Saturday, was late night eats with the boys. As always, good food and good laughs. It was really nice to see Wingman‘s bride-to-be, I-V. Bee cancelled her plans and joined us as well. At the end of the night I got to have a nice leisurely drive out to my old stomping ground to send Bee home. I hadn’t been in the that area in a long time. Afterward, I took a little detour into tha Quay before heading home.

Sunday, I *finally* caught up with GuessGirl. I hadn’t seen her the last 3 times I was back in town. He hit up some dim sum for lunch, did the Robson crawl, and called it a day.

By night, I had dinner with some family friends. It was the usual crowd, the usual laughs. Later on, I popped on over to Jenny-Baby and Bo‘s for a pint. We caught up with the boys at a greasy-spoon. The boys and I finish up the food crawl with a thing o’wings.

Monday, was much ado about nothing. And it was just the way I wanted it. At night, it was an all-you-can-eat feast to celebrate Dalo‘s actual birthday. Needless to say, I had my fair share of the goods that I wouldn’t get on the plains.

What I Know …

This trip home was a bit of an eye-opener. I honestly wish I had more time to spend with my friends, but I really did need the time to myself. I also decided to make sure I see some people I hadn’t seen in a while. On both sides, it worked out.

I had a lot of time to think, and think I did. I made some mistakes. I was stupid enough to go against some of my usual policies. Moreover, I made the mistake of going against my gut instincts.

For years and years, my gut had served me well. I’m rarely – if ever – wrong. I pride myself a little bit in that. I’ve let my logic cloud my judgment. What a shame, I tell you. It could have been simple. It could have been … *sigh*

So What Now?

So, I’m not being charged. But the cops now want me to take an anger management course to deal with my issues with ‘rage’. Yeah …. right … Like Dimples says, “You have issues with rage like I have homicidal tendencies …”

Beyond that, I don’t know what my answer to that question. I’ll just have to wait and see. In the meantime, I hop on a plane in 4 hours to get back to the grind …

… & write back @ ya’!

Dutchess : No worries, babe. I’m fine. Miss you too.

J.Lo : Yes, indeed. Did I ever get you that soundtrack?

Leave a Reply

