Posted: 03/14/2005 in None

I Wanna A Doggy …

I went and swapped my sofabed. I bought a fugly Beddinge Klassisk using the credit note I had at Ikea some weeks ago. But the damn thing just isn’t comfortable to sit on.

So, I went The Brick and bought myself Cheetah. Not only was it cheaper to begin with, I got it for even less when I barked about their price-drop and GST-Free weekend sale.

Not too shabby …

So I checked my email. I got an interesting note from a sheila from Oz. Turns out, this lady has been an avid reader since this time last year. She was wondering about the ‘direction’ I was headed with this little experiment on mine. She started reading because she wanted to know more about Great White North, to enhance her travels. She used to love that I did reviews of restaurants and talked about places …

Well as of late, I haven’t much to talk about. I’ve pretty much been working. It’s not like I have any misadventures to talk about, since I don’t know too many people here. I put out my random thoughts and crap about my life. I wasn’t so sure why I started this thing up to begin with.

But, if this thing has kind of taken a life of its own … so be it. Feel free to drop a comment or two as per what you’d like to see here.

I made that jukebox a while’s back, and I’ll get it back up online again some time when I figure out my computer situation.

I’ve got that little random poll running (upper right) too. Maybe have a look at what’s being asked and cast a vote.

*hmmm* … What to talk about?

Well, perhaps it’s back to a bit of the culinary route …

A little while ago, I had the pleasure of dining out with a friend from TO and his friend. Dinner was at River Café on Prince’s Island.

Being new to the city, I hadn’t a clue where I was going. Lucky for me, I my buddy’s friend gave good directions and I was able to make my way there. One thing I like about downtown Calgary, I can walk just about anywhere.

It was a nice little brisk walk. I hadn’t been that part of the town yet. Prince’s Island is situated on the Bow River, just north of downtown. One must walk over a bridge behind Eau Claire Festival Market – a market similar to VanCity’s Granville Island. Needless to say, I’ll have to check that out some time.

In any case, as I approached the restaurant, I found it had quite a tranquil feel to it. The surrounding was dark. There was very little sound of traffic. The building was nestled in amongst some trees, and lit up with white Christmas lights. It looked like the kind of of place I’d like.

After introductions, exchanging pleasantries, we sat down to share the Smoked Fish and Game Platter. This appetizer included Native Candied Salmon, Side Striped Shrimp, Tea Smoked Duck, Lamb Liver Pâté, Cured Wild Salmon, Buffalo Pastrami, Grilled Apple Turnip Relish, Red Onion Marmalade and Mushroom Ragu, with House Made Crackers.

I particularly liked the Lamb Liver Pâté, which is odd, considering I was never a fan of pâté. I was hoping for the Buffalo Pastrami to really impress me, but unfortunately, the texture was a little bit lacking. I expected it to be quite gamy, but I found it to be a tad too dry. Perhaps had the coarse-grain mustard been a little more flavourful, it would have been more enjoyable. Otherwise, the Mushroom Ragu was very popular at our table.

For my main, I chose the Crisp Seared Striped Bass with Chick Pea Fries, Arugula, Pickled Bean Tartar Sauce, and White Fish Caviar. I couldn’t really complain about this dish. The texture of the bass was lovely, the flavour bountiful, and I quite enjoyed the caviar – again, not normally something I enjoy.

My buddy chose the have the special of the night; a roasted duck. It looked to be simply delicious. His friend ordered the Organic Duck Breast with Potato Confit, Vanilla Parsnip, and Cherry Vinaigrette. She was nice enough to offer me a sample of her dish. The duck was very moist, and served at just the right temperature. And when glazed with the Cherry Vinaigrette, it’s simply marvelous.

Despite, the tempting Trio of Crème Brulee with Vanilla Tuile and Orchard Fruit Compote, the platter and main did me in. Other items on the menu seemingly worthy of a try are:

Quebec Foie Gras Terrine
Vanilla Cherries
Maple Syrup, Brioche

Lobster & Shiitake Mushroom Pot Stickers
Plum Sweet & Sour Sauce

Elk Carpaccio
Portobello Mushroom
Leoni Grana Parmesan, Arugula Relish

Grilled Albacore Tuna
Buckwheat Noodles, Braised Shiitake Mushrooms
Lemongrass Ginger Broth

… & write back @ ya’!

Jovo : I think this flick is totally worth watching. You’ll love Aishwarya Rai. She’s hailed at the Queen of Bollywood. Alexis Bledel is in the movie, but she had only 2 scenes; if my memory severs me correct. In fact, though her character was somewhat crucial to the plot, I think she barely fit into story as a whole.

Leave a Reply

