Posted: 03/13/2005 in None

Busy Busy … But Time To Relax

Work has gotten a little more stressful lately. We’ve done implementation, practically ready for cut-over, and just need to sign off. But that’s the easy part. Once again the office politics come into play.

The tension has been running very high at work lately. These last two weeks has been pretty bad. I fear that tempers could boil over and things could get ugly. Perhaps sensing the escalating tension levels, The Boss took us all out for a happy hour round at Saltlik. I think it did the team some good.

In any case, this last week or so, I’ve been trying to ease a bit of stress by catching up with some people. I’m been on on-and-off chats with ‘Tel, GuessGirl.

I had a nice long chat with Rugby Chick. Hopefully, I’ll be able to catch her out on the Wet Coast if she visits her sister that same week I’m back for Ah-Ho‘s graduation.

I gave a call to Dimples to shoot the breeze. She’s ragging on me for not having been running. … and yes, I’m actively looking for a gym … But hey, give me a bit of time. I’m old, remember?

It’s been a while since I talked to Renka. In fact, it feels like forever. You could say I’m going through withdrawal. I suppose I saw so much of her so regularly out east that it was pretty much lifestyle.

Cutie is back in town (home) for the week. She’s studying for her exam so she hasn’t been too available. Moreover, she’s spending time with family too. We did manage to grab a bite here and drink there. Last night we went to go see “Bride & Prejudice“. This movie was quite the treat as it was a feast for the eyes.

Yes, Aishwarya Rai is simply gorgeous … but I am referring to the vibrant colours on-screen. Indians have always been known for their colourful dress. Also, I found some of the filming locations to have been rather exquisite. Although the filmed spots weren’t so much the famed beaches and such, I found its beauty to be in its simplicity. It made for a splendid backdrop, without taking attention away from the story.

This movie will undoubtedly draw comparisons with Deepa Mehta‘s “Bollywood/Hollywood“, being the second “Bollywood” film to really make a splash on the North American market. Personally, I see it as a mix of the former with a bit of the lighter humour of “Bend It Like Beckham“. This should come as no surprise, since Gurinder Chadha did direct and write both screenplays.

I found the biggest selling point of this movie had to have been the story line. This Bollywood rendition of Jane Austen‘s “Pride & Prejudice” took a rather light-hearted approach, but managed to keep the true to a plot that would win the audience over.

A somewhat comical performance (in contrast to his role in “Bend It Like Beckham“) from Anupam Kher was most welcome, but was dearly in short supply. I was a little bit disappointed to see rather smaller performances from Naveen Andrews and Indira Varma, both of “Kama Sutra: A Tale of Love” fame, as well.

In typical Bollywood fashion, no movie would be complete without spontaneous singing and dancing … and a good fight scene. There was undoubtedly a lot of singing and dancing; although at times, it was seemingly too much and almost tipped the scale to onto the “musical” side of thing. However, the fight scene was pretty … boring. What made it bearable was that fight scene backdrop. You’ll have to watch it to understand.

Save for that, and an unexpected appearance by Ashanti (… and why not? After all, she’s as Indian as I’m Scottish!), I’d say this movie is well worth the watch.

Leave a Reply

