Posted: 03/02/2005 in None

Days Gone By …

I get it now. I really do. For so many years, I would hear of seniors in high school saying, “… man, I can’t wait to graduate! I want to get out of this hell hole!”. I would be the first to tell them to think twice. Though I see their point, there was something about high school that you’ll never get back.

Oddly enough, I could never put my finger on it. I could never quite say what it is. I’ve oft erred in saying it was “freedom”, for which I would be ridiculed.

Last night, I sat and thought back to the times I remember being carefree. Most of those memories were for high school. I’ll tell you what I miss …

… I miss lying around on a patch of grass at the beach on a sunny mid-afternoon, staring at the clouds in the sky …

… I miss those insane phone calls that last from dusk ’til dawn … on a school night …

… I miss going for long walks in the middle of the night …

… I miss sitting on a log, wrapped up, listening to the waves for hours …

… I miss driving about the city aimlessly until we end up in the middle of nowhere …

… I miss cutting class … just to sneak a few hours away …

… I miss those school dances …

… I miss lounging out, watching movies while flopped all over the couch …

… I miss going for coffee … just before going for coffee … and just after having just gone for coffee …

… I miss shooting stick … all the time …

All this, I don’t have anymore. There is never enough time. If not just me, but others too, are busy. Back in the day, we had that luxury … that luxury of time. It’s the freedom of time, that I miss.

We all had similar lives. We all had similar lifestyles. We had all the time in the world to do what we wanted. And now that is lost.

It’s been pretty evident the last couple of times I’ve been home that we’re all busy people. Late night eats is all *the* thing. Reason for that, is we’re all busy. I’m not complaining. I love the company of my friends – it’s always a great time to be had.

But lately, I have been craving companionship. I’m sure it’s been amplified by my having just moved to a new city, but it had been weighing on my mind for a while now. Oh, if just one for me to share things with …

*sigh* … I should get a dog …

… & write back @ ya’!

J.Lo : Thanks, sweetie … I’ll be out of this funk some time or another. No worries … How are things? Did that PM7 work out for you?

Leave a Reply

