Posted: 01/26/2005 in None

This may very well be my last post before I leave TO as I’ll be packing up my system to ship it home. I’ll be reduced to the Ole Craptop. I whopping 133 MHz, with 32 Mb of RAM. … *awesome* … {rolling eyes} … At least it’ll suffice for the time being. I can still chat on the thing … barely …

Dang … had a meeting with Pac-Man last night when it really hit me – I’m leaving in 3 days. Crazy. I haven’t really packed yet. Yeah, I’ve been prolonging it. I’ve been procrastinating. I wasn’t really sure why. Maybe it’s that tradition I have of packing at the last minute.

… whatever …

So lately, I’ve been talking care of stuff here and there. It was a slow process. I think mentally, I’ve been stalling as to be able to spend time with certain people. I don’t know when’s the next time I’ll get to see them, so to speak.

In Baby-J, I’ll be losing a wonderful ‘spouse’. It was difficult when she left Vancouver for Kingston some years ago, but for me to leave after having lived with her will be especially trying. I’ll long for those 4-hour lunches … those impromptu dinners … discussing the sudden emergence of *her* shade of grey … She’s my best friend, and I’ll miss her dearly.

Though at times it’s tough for us to catch each other, I know I can always depend on Berty. I could not ask for anything more in a friend than this guy. The support he gives me is whole and unquestioning. Honestly, had it not been for him, I may not have moved to TO to begin with. I know he’ll take NYC by storm, then hopefully we’ll both find our way home to be at center ice in time to watch the puck drop in 2010.

I’ll miss sitting across a table from Renka, chatting away while enjoying a good meal. One of my mottos has always been, “… good company … good food … you can’t go wrong …”. Renka‘s always great company; so great in fact, I’m there more so for her company than the food. I don’t think she knows it, but she made this city bearable for me. Perhaps had it not been for her, I would have moved home a long time ago. I still find it hard to believe that we’ve only been hanging out for about a year, and have become such close friends.

Pac-Man‘s been trying to get himself back into the healthier balance, but it’s never stopped him from calling the occasional meeting at the clubhouse. Talking with him is easy. We can be blunt. We’re always honest. It’s always good. I know Wilson will miss us.

D&G … What can I say about these guys? In Dalo, is a guy I’ve known for what seems like forever – since the days of True Light Chinese School. And in Gracey, I’ve been fortunate to have met many years ago, and thankful to have befriended these last couple of years. A wonderful couple, and great friends. No doubt I’ll be missing those rituals @ CW as the The Funky 4-some.

It was great to have Cutie out of the cornfields and back to the great white north. I’m like a big kid around her. She keeps me young. It’s a shame I’ve only been able to spend but a little bit of time with her here. But I guess life has it’s fair share surprises. Though her road has been tough this last year, I hope she roughs it out and finds her way here. Good friends, you want to keep near.

I feel lucky to have met Jack-E. Good guy. But I never see him! That’s the life of the articling student at one of the nation’s largest law firms, I suppose. I trust he’ll do very well for himself.

Who wouldn’t thunk I would have found myself a little sis here in Rugby Chick? Well, I did. And coming to think of it, I think it’s been nearly a year since I’ve seen her. And yet we keep in touch online or by phone … always catching up on the latest. Shame we never hung out more …

… and the ruggers … What a bunch of guys! In particular, I’ll miss the crawl with Dean-O and Davy J … hanging with Wanker, Gabey and his lady. Of course, always good times with Franchaise, Scottie, Pretty Boy, Danny-Boy, J-Dogg, Anger and Kingpin. Front Row! Whooo!

I don’t think I’ll miss this city, but I will miss the people. That I do know.

… & write back @ ya’!

Baby-J : … yes, no one will live up to your standards … and we all know that I’ll never meet anybody quite as amazing as you … *boo*

Wingman : … no shit, Sherlocke … no shit …

Leave a Reply

