Posted: 01/01/2005 in None

… So, What’s Next?

“If you don’t know where you come from, you don’t know where you’re going.”

– My Pops


It’s a little something my pops said to me while I was very young. It stuck with me. I think it makes a lot of sense though.

Since it’s like … the thing to do, to look back on the year and reflect … I might as well do the same …

… the good

– rung in the new year at Lemming-Boy‘s with some good friends like Trace
– spending many an hour loungin’ with Blondie, hole’d up in her room … we’ll just call them our therapy sessions
– became reacquainted with Renka, whom became my culinary partner in crime; a true blessing for which I’m most thankful for …
– my best and dearest friend, Baby-J, moved in with me providing me with what seems to be an hourly sanity checks … no words could describe what that has meant to me …
– through Berty, Renka I met a ton of new great people …
– one of my best buds, Wingman, proposes to one of the best chicks I know in I-V
Rish visited
– … and Wingman did too
‘watched’ Ah-Ho come into his own, both on the field and off … winning the provincial high school championship, and being appointed captain of games of the school for his senior year … needless to say, I’m proud of that kid …
– then GuessGirl visited
– reconnected with Cutie after her many years of exile in the cornfields
Jeffy popped into town
Summerlicious with the usual suspect
– having Kira live with us … I’ve dearly missed having a dog …
– people getting into the blogging … it’s fun to read others’ thoughts … and it makes it easier to keep up with everyone …
– I brought Kira home with me
– witnessing good friends, Dalo and Gracey, tie the knot …
Phoebus (2004-?)
– welcoming Cutie upon her move to TO …
Zed‘s engagement to Baek-Ko’Laska
– a job op

… the bad

– having that reason and need for those therapy sessions, spending many an hour loungin’ with Blondie, hole’d up in her room …
– school was a bust
– learning of and consoling a good friend and mentor, Daddy, through his darker hours
– meeting the wrong type of women
– to learn of the health concerns of Renka‘s father … and seeing the toll it’s taken on her …
R.I.P. Phoebe (1995-2004)

… the ugly

– dealing with the reason that called for me to need those therapy sessions, spending many an hour loungin’ with Blondie, hole’d up in her room …
– having learned of a dear friend’s loss of a loved one …
– the cost of the re$urrection
– having learned of the failed marriage of some friends, not ever having thought one was capable of doing such things to the other …
– people suffering

What I Look Back And See …

This year started with me coming out of what could be said the worst year of my life. I ended, and was dealing with, a long-term realtionship. I moved to a new city. I was dealing with issues of my own, with myself.

For this, I find myself having been thankful having some truly incredible friends:

Baby-J, for *always* being there …
Blondie, for her constant support …
Renka, for her wonderful company in a new city …
my ruggers;Dean-O, Davy J and Gabey, for always keeping me in good spirits …
my boys; Wingman and Jovo, for keeping me grounded and in my place …

And, of course, my main-stay people:

The Funky 4-some; all those rituals @ CW with Dalo, Gracey and Pac-Man (and the meetings too) …
Cutie, for having moved back to the great white north …
The Fam, for never giving up, or letting up …

I am thankful I met new friends:

MetroBoyJack-EAnnaBananaRugby ChickDimplesSassy Hermit

And I’ve learned. I’ve learned a lot about myself, of people around me. I’ve met people that challenge me. I’ve met certain individuals that make me want to be a better person.

What I Have To Look Forward To …

abso-freakin’-lutely *everything*

… & write back @ ya’!

Gracey & Ghis : I don’t know how much of a “do-gooder” I am … but I was once – and probably will be (at heart) for the rest of my life – a boy scout. You guys know me, I’m always the first to volunteer my services. So long as it’s humanly possible, I’ll do it. And if I can’t, I’ll do what I can.

In this case, I’m doing what I can. I would love to have the means to and go over there to participate in the efforts, but seeing as I can’t, I’m doing my part to ensure that others can do what I cannot.

“Kudos” to those who’ve donated. You’re doing a great service to those in need. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

