Posted: 09/08/2004 in None

What A Week …

Rugby Chick has pointed out, I’ve been “slacking off” in my postings of late. *AHEM!* I have been busy. In fact, I’ve had maybe a dozen hours of sleep during the last week or so.

As Cutie will attest, I was dead to the world this morning. I got a whopping 8 hours of sleep last night. I was simply exhausted. But I look back on it all and I wouldn’t have done any of it differently.

Things kicked off on last Monday when there was a wedding planners’ meeting. I got to catch up a bit with some friends I hadn’t seen in a while, and meet some new ones. I met Gracey‘s mom – a very nice lady. There we went over details about the wedding and tried to iron out the wrinkles.

I took on some more responsibilities as to best help out the bride and groom and their respective families. Such duties included helping pick up extended family members from the airport and sending them to their hotels, arranging some beautiful bamboo plants at the banquet hall, and just general running around for the little things.

My biggest responsibilities were arguably during the day of the wedding and the day after. I rented a big cargo van in order to transport a good load of stuff from the church where the ceremony took place, down to the hotel where the reception was to be held. Afterward, Pac-Man and I were left to clean up and clear out of the hall.

The next day I was still returning and sorting out a lot of the stuff in the van. Much to my surprise (and delight), I was invited out by the two families for dinner at The Cannery Seafood House. I had never been to this restaurant: yes, I do realize it may come as a shock to some of you, as it did to D&G (when they asked for directions to the place upon picking me up) … but, no, I’ve never been.

For some reason, I was under the impression that is was a bigger dinner with all the extended family in town. However, I was a little bit surprised to see it was just of the two immediate families. Needless to say, I felt a little out of place …

Fortunately for me, the families had the seating arranged such that D&G were at the middle of the table, with me sitting opposite them flanked by Gracey‘s two lovely sisters.

to be continued … must walk Kira before she drops a bomb, and then off to Jack-E‘s to watch the game

… & write back @ ya’!

Ghis : Guys don’t ‘gossip’ in the conventional manner as girls do; we ‘rumour’. Besides, the meaning of ‘gossip’ came from the term “go sip”, a popular saying in colonial politics when statesmen would send their lackeys out to various pubs to listen to what is being said about the local government. It meant to listen to what others have to say … when was the last time a guy was accused to always listening?

Wingman : Hey … her itty bitties weren’t that impressive, buddy …

Rugby Chick : Hey, you! It was good to talk to you tonight – albeit the short chat it was. I’m glad to hear you’re settling in and such. We’ll have to hang some some time!

Leave a Reply

