Posted: 07/11/2004 in None

… yeah … it’s been a while, eh?

So on Thursday, I had a pretty ‘laxed day. Later on in the evening, I met up with a new friend. It was a fun experience; one I hadn’t had in a long time. In fact, it’s been a long time since I really met anybody ‘new’ under such circumstances.

Friday was a bit of a an errand day, and a worrisome night. Ran out to pick up items for fix-it jobs around the place, stuff for Kira (and the like) by day. As the evening came about Pac-Man called after work to see what was happening. We opted to run out and watch “Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story“.

The movie was very much a Ben Stiller movie. Is it just me or are the characters in his movies starting to be frighteningly similar? With Vince Vaughn playing his usual (as of late) character, this movie had its moments. I found this to be stupid funny, worthy of a watch if you have little to do or looking for a no-brain’er laugh.

By night, I had offered to pick up Baby-J and her friend from a night out in downtown, and send her friend home. While en route, my cell phone rang. There are very few people that would call me at 2:30 AM. My heart sank. I was worried. When I picked up the phone, the caller ID displayed Renka‘s number. When I answered, she was very upset, in tears … “… Warz, can you take me to airport?”.

Good on my word, Pac-Man and I sent the friend home, brought Baby-J out to the clubhouse for a meeting, I then sent everyone home, and headed downtown to meet up with Renka. Her father’s health condition had taken a turn for the worse, and she needed to get on the first thing moving out of the city. I had little to say that could make things better. All I could offer was whatever support she needed. Such be the case, it was a ride out to the airport. Done and done.

I didn’t get into bed until close to 7:30 AM. I was woken up by some family members calling. … some ‘issues’ to be discussed … things that needed ‘working out’ … I was dead tired. I hadn’t slept much as it is the last couple of days, but I was pretty determined not to sleep the day away. I tried to be productive.

I headed out with Baby-J to do some grocery shopping. Afterward, we gave Kira a much-needed bath. I’m beginning to think it may have been a mistake. Just the other day, I cleaned the entire pad. Now, the entire pad is covered in husky fur. *oi* Following the doggy bath, I cleaned the entire bathroom. I can’t believe how much I actually enjoy cleaning. Strange, I know …

Anyhow, Baby-J filled in for Renka for tonight’s outing at Two Rosehill with Dalo and Gracey. Upon arrival, we were a little taken aback by the appearance of the restaurant. Bluntly put, the restaurant looked like a bit of a dump, save for a decent-looking set of doors.

When we walked in, our spirits lifted a little as we found the place rather well decorated. This place had a much older, mature feel to it – and not so much of the new glitz and glamour. It was classy looking and comfortable. We were looking forward a nice meal. However, to our surprise, we found their sample menu offered nothing from their signature menu. We were not off to a good start.

At this point, I was in desperate need of caffeine. The coffee was decent, so decent I was willing to take the cup black. However, the cup became cold very quickly. There was a bit of a draft and the ladies were a little bit cold. Strike one.

As is ‘custom’ when dining with Baby-J, she offers significant ‘input’ into my choices per each course. I started with the Gingered Cantaloupe Mellon Soup. The Poached Tiger Prawn and Minted Creme Fraiche soup was served chilled. It was very refreshing … however, after just one spoonful of the tasty starter, I found that apparently I actually wanted the Endive and Watercress Salad. Let me tell you why … the Roasted Peaches were soft and sweet, but the Lemon-Honey Dressing did little to calm the bitterness of the endive. Strike two.

The main course, I chose to go with the 10oz Grilled Top Sirloin Steak Paired with Garlic Butter Tossed Frites and Three Peppercorn Jus. The best part? The steamed, buttered broccoli. The worst part? The 10oz Grilled Top Sirloin Steak. The texture of the meat was less than desirable. There was little flavour other than the abundance of peppercorn. Myself, D&G were not impressed. Baby-J ordered the Lemon and Parsley Crusted West Coast Snapper Served in a Saffron and Seafood Tomato Broth. The snapper itself wasn’t bad, but we found the broth to be suspect – it pretty much took away from the taste of the fish. I think the dish is best served much warmer than it was. Strike three; we’re pretty much done … but it’s not over.

For dessert, there was supposed to be a choice of Summer Berry Bread Pudding Served with a Riesling Berry Compote or TBD. Frankly, I’ve never had a “TBD”. But, after having had the bread pudding, I began to wonder why I hadn’t ordered the “TBD”. The texture of the bread pudding was rather mushy under a hard upper crust. Though very sweet on its own, I felt it didn’t mix well with the berries at all. I would imagine the bread pudding, fresh and warm, would have been a nice treat. Strike … four … ??? … and yet still not done …

Lastly, I’m normally as forgiving a guy (as Baby-J will attest) as you’ll find. Tonight though, I found the service to be seriously lacking. Firstly, the waiter, while being friendly and offering simple conversation, over-stayed his welcome at the table. Being cordial, polite, inviting and warm is an integral part of playing the table’s host. However, when not asked of your opinion, you’re best off not to offer it up. We really didn’t care to hear what our waiter thought of the Street Festival.

Moreover, the rest of the staff did little to help. They served the wrong plates to the wrong people. The plates were served in less-than-presentable fashion. While moving items to create space and accommodate for dishes, glasses clashed, plates collided – showing a disregard and general lack of attention for detail. Utensils were placed on the wrong sides. But, what really bothered me was that they pointed and addressed the patron directly as “You”, and they did not serve the ladies first.

Needless to say, our dining experience tonight was less than stellar. Although, to its credit, the place did seem to have some interesting and tempting items on its main menu. At this point, I’m not entirely sure if I’d be coming back to this place.

Well, we tried to make the best of the rest of the night. Baby-J buggered off to her other plans for the evening. D&G and I met up with Pac-Man, hit the night market, then off to Congee Wong‘s for our little late night bite. Good laughs … good times …

Well, I’m knackered …

Leave a Reply

