Posted: 11/12/2003 in None

I’m feeling very nostalgic. In fact, I’ve been feeling that way all week. I can’t help but think back to the days when life was so much more simple. I don’t really know how to quite describe it. I suppose the best way to put it is that life can be so jading. I remember something that Tina, Tina, [CENSORED] Machina once said to me that kind of explains the way I feel. In recent years, she’s been through a lot … be it moving in and out of a place … dealing with friends … making heads and tails of her relationships with men … she always found sanctuary in old friends. She remembers the days when she, Jenny-Baby, Berty, Perky, Stamper and I would just bum about. We had so little worries. Didn’t have to worry about bills … no worries that our marks will determine the rest of our futures … no … life was good …

It’s a little ironic that this nostalgia should be happen on Remembrance Day. This day has been a bit a of a big deal to me for a very long time. In elementary school, all sparks, beavers, brownies, cubs, guides, and scouts were asked to wear their uniforms to school and all members of the Girl Guides and Boy Scouts movements were invited as a part of the assembly party. Moreover, as it is a holiday the day of, the same boy and girls and the rest of the district’s Girl Guides and Boy Scouts would assemble to make a procession in a form of a parade. We’d all end up at a large legion hall where we’d have our own ceremony.

By the time I reached high school, I hadn’t the time for scouts, but Saints took the day very seriously. Some of the school’s students enlisted over the years and some weren’t so lucky as to return after the war. The school made a point to bring everyone in on the holiday to pay our respects to those who lost their lives. After the ceremony, the school has a tradition of hosting “School vs. Old Boys events. The two sides would compete in rugby and soccer, and more recent years basketball and ultimate frisbee. Even after I had graduated, I would return to play in these games. This will be the first year I will have not been a part of a ceremony since I can remember. I almost feel like a fish out of water.

I can’t remember when it was, but on the day of my very first ceremony, my dad asked me if this was a day to celebrate. I figured ‘yes’, as it marked the end of war. He shook his head and said no … it’s a day to remember … to remember those who passed before in the service of peace. It’s interesting … I always thought I understood what that meant, but it was only in recent years did I really start to understand it. You hear all about how “men and women have served for our country … and lost their lives for you … for peace”. What I never noticed was the fact that this was all the American propaganda. As far as I’m concerned, those Canadian men and women were serving not their country, but for peace.

Canada, has always had very little to gain in warfare. Time and time again Canada has played peacemaker, to restore the peace, to help rebuild countries. Americans fight to assert that their way of life is the way to go. It’s no wonder why they have so many emenies. Why is it that Canadians are so darned liked around the world? … maybe it’s because we’re not assholes …

Leave a Reply

