Posted: 10/29/2003 in None

I showed up to practice a little early today. Just as I got there, bad news came a walking. Danny Boy and I saw a sorry-looking Franchaise moping about, dragging his feet from the car. “I’m done,”, he said. During our game against Fleming (Peterborough) Franchaise took a goal-line stance on a pop from a maul. The trailer changed directions at the last second and Franchaise caught his knee right on the top of the head. The impact compressed his neck, and fractured a bone. Talk about taking one for the team …

As far as I’m concerned, Franchaise has been a mainstay on the squad and is the team MVP. Never flashy, always steady. He got the job done. It’s as simple as that. I’m no going to lie – it hurts that he won’t be there with us on the field when we head into the playoffs. Anytime we’re out, he’s got a drink on me …

Leave a Reply

