Happy (Belated) Birthday, Butthead!

Posted: 08/17/2003 in None

Started writing this thing on the day of … but I couldn’t quite post it … so this won’t show until later …

So I said I’d talk about my going away shin-dig … so I will. I really want to talk about two groups of people there …

So, we have Wilme, Scooby-Guy, Krispy, J-Biz, Just and Dougie. This is the crowd I grew up with. Our parents knew each other way back when. We’ve known each other since we were in diapers. At the end of the night, it was this lot that stuck behind and had those last drinks with me. Irish Car Bombs, baby! I wish that WeeWeeYan could have made it; I haven’t seen her in a long, long time. As always, Short Stuff was invited but as she’s out in our nation’s capital, she and her husband couldn’t make it out.

Casear, Ken, I-V, Ah-Ho and I had dinner beforehand. I wouldn’t have had it any other way. This group might be my closest circle right now. Casear and Ken have always been there. And at times, they’re stared me down to out-right put me in my place. For that, they have my full respect. I-V … now there’s a sweetheart. To put up with us guys … wow … You’re wonderful! And Ah-Ho, my no-longer-so-little brother. Truth is, you’ll always be my little brother … like it or not. Good times … bad times … we’ve seen it all. Cheers!

For the rest of you, I hope you’re not offended that I don’t go into detail and list you all: there so many of you! But you know who you are. And you are special to me. In fact, even today, I’m still living in the moment of that night. I often say that I don’t care to be the center of attention … but truth is, it was fun that night.

As for you folks who couldn’t make it out, no worries. I’ll be catching up with you soon, I’m sure. In particular … MilMil, Jo, Chev and Teflon … It’s been too long …

Leave a Reply

