Posted: 03/12/2003 in None

Words cannot describe what I’m feeling right now. My dear friend, “Daddy“, was a man I met in high school. He was my Woodworking teacher, and one of my rugby and basketball coaches. He is a good, good man.

We call him Daddy because he’s a father figure around the school. He’s always looking out for everyone. If you’ve got a problem, he’ll take the time out to help you out; be it a school, personal or even a legal problem. He is one man with one of the biggest hearts I know.

Some time ago, I found out that his wife was ill. But it was only recently did I know the severity of the problem. Turns out she’s been battling severe depression for 3 years now. Unfortunately, she tried to commit suicide a little under a month ago. She’s since been placed in a psychiatric ward in a hospital, where she’ll receive 24-hour supervision.

Daddy is such a great man, that one could only imagine how incredible a woman must be for him to take as his wife. Though I’ve known her for some years now, we were never terribly close. However, I can confidently say that she’s a lovely, lovely woman; kind and sincere, a loving mother, and a great friend.

When I first learned of this near tragedy, I was quite taken aback. You see, I’ve never really lost anybody dear to me, at least not at an age where I could truly comprehend what such a loss could mean. I started thinking, “What if she did pass?”

It would be such a shame. Here’s a wonderful woman whom gives her all every day for her family. A woman that, year after year, comes out full force to my alma mater’s annual Christmas Hamper Drive. I can’t imagine what would happen if we lost her. I don’t want to even think about it.

And then I think … “… what about Daddy?” … How could a great guy like him lose a great gal like her? Why do bad things happen to good people? It just doesn’t seem fair.

Every day now, Daddy would spend his lunch hours with her. Right after school he’ll meet up with her to talk, to rent and watch a movie, to swim with her, play board games, just to be with her. After that, he’d return home to take care of the homefront, their 3 kids. He did all of this while maintaining a career as a teacher to his students, a mentor to many … a friend to all.

That’s love. That’s dedication. That’s conviction. That’s what life is all about.

Yesterday, I found out that my friend, Daddy, had been in a car accident – a bad car accident. How do you deal with that? Please … I’d like to know … I need to know … I’m so lost right now …

Leave a Reply

